Brass tumbling, polish, and mixed cases...

I'm fairly new to reloading. Buying things here and there to get going more. Recently I bought a brass tumbler from Cabela's (Cabela's Case Tumbler Kit 400 TUMBLER KIT). Overall I think it was a good deal and I like it. Questions below.

Every time I use the polish I find the brass nice a shiny afterward. But... I end up with 1/2 dozen cases caked with the polish inside. I need to use a screw driver to get the crap out. The directions say to use 2 cap fulls. Is that normal? Am I using too much or just need to deal with this side effect?

Also, right now I'm reloading 9MM, 38 Special, 357, and 45 ACP. The first 3 seem to tumble fine together. When I added the 45 ACP things didn't turn out so well. Lots of polish, corn media and cases stuck inside each other. Do folks here tumble different case sizes separately?

It's a good idea to separate calibers. As you found, you can get away with mixing similar diameter cases, but once you mix cases that can possibly get wedged together, they will.

Personally, I sort all of my brass by caliber before I tumble it, and then only tumble one caliber at a time.

Two caps full of polish seems to be about twice what you need. Try to 'drizzle' it in slowly, and run the tumbler with no cases for a few minutes after you add the polish. Once it gets mixed around a bit, add the cases.

You shouldn't need to add polish every time you tumble. It lasts a while. Also, did you add it to the media while the tumbler was running without any cases in the bowl? That will distribute the polish and keep it from clumping. And yes, .45 cases need to be tumbled by themselves or you'll find other cases stuck inside them. The time spent seperating them before tumbling is worth it.

yeah - what he said

Last edited: