• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Brass sticking in the powder funnel. Solved

NH Phantom

NES Member
Ive been setting up my reloading room for a couple months now. I started loading some 45 acp on my dillon 750 to maks sure everything is dialed in and set up new toolheads. Brass was sticking really bad in the powder funnel. I came across a video on youtube by Modifier 472.
I cut the end of the funnel off about 3/16 of in inch with a grinder and the tube chucked in my drill press. Beveled the end. Sanded the end with 180, 320, 600, and 1200 paper. Then polished the end with some metal polish I had on hand. Took about 10 minutes total. This thing now works awesome. Check out his video if interested. Will be adding a bunch of pics of my room when finished soon.

i did it easier way. took a piece of brass into a drill. applied metal polish to it. and then ran it against the funnel secured in the vise. did the same thing.

the finish of a lot of dillon parts there is shit. but, it is what it is. there were several things that needed some alterations, but, it was a while ago, i do not even recall now.
i posted about the alterations for powder measures i did - look it up, it improves how it all works by a mile - actually it makes it back to how it worked on 550, i think.

Here, took a picture

4290FA9D-C266-4D6B-AD84-3990CBF921FA.jpeg

Last edited:
What am I suppose to be looking at here?
makes no sense? hmm. ok.

you remove rod contraptio that moves the measure, it improves stability of the drop. it is how it worked on 550, as i understand.
instead of rubber bands one can use a metal spring, if desired.
1668695205936.png

Get a Hornady powder setup and be done with it.
it is not that great, i have both. for varget dillon works better.