• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Brand new AR-15, Having Issues

So I took my brand new MP 15 to the range today. I loaded a pre ban mag with pmc and started shooting. The first few rounds were fine, then on the next round I pulled the trigger and nothing happened. I cleared that round, chambered the next and it fired a few times, then the same issue. I thought it might the mags so I tried a friend's 20 rounder and ran into the same issue after firing a few shots. This was the first time firing this rifle, and I did clean it before hand. Seeing as I'm new to owning this rifle I'm wondering if anyone had any ideas what the issue could be?

Just a guess, but the bolt might not be going completely into battery. This would result in a light hit on the primer. Another possibility could be a defective firing pin, but I think a tight fit on the new gun is more likely. Hand cycle the bolt and see if it hesitates upon going into battery. I would also disassemble the bolt carrier group, clean it and lube generously.

Thanks everyone for the tips, I'll do what was recommended then test her out when I get a chance.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 2