• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Bow / Arrow for a Beginner

I have been anxious to introduce my sons to firearms, but have been waiting for them to be old enough. My oldest, 5 years old, has expressed an interest in learning how to use a bow and arrow. I thought this would be a good place to start. Any advice to what to buy, bow and arrow advice. I have no experience what so ever.

Not sure were you are located but in in southeastern Ma go to Reeedys archery in Middleboro, they will fit the bow to your son, and spend all day with him if needed and have him shoot on target by the time you leave. I suggest Mathews starter bow. It has adjustable draw length and weight son he can grow into the bow they are around 150.00. spend money on bow and rest and sight. They wil some time have package deal too. for about 250.00 or so .It might seen a little steep at first, but is a far better bow that what you will get at bass pro, or cabelas.

They make a lot of good bows that are adjustable these days. If he's only 5 I'd suggest something very inexpensive to start out with.....a fiberglass bear recurve will get him going.....make sure he has a glove for his fingers and an arm guard....let me know I have a few kids gloves kicking around if you want one.

Genesis bows are OK, but they have no letoff, there are better kids bows out there now.....

If you want to take the plunge and spend some money, right now...he's probably not even at 18 inch draw length....so even the following kids bows might be too big.....

Diamond Edge goes from 18-28" draw length but weight is only in ten pound increments. (ie you'll need to change out the limbs as he grows)

I think the Mission Maniac (low grade Mathews) is another very adjustable bow, I think even the draw weight very adjustable (something not seen in most kids bows of past) This is definately one to look at.