Boston LTC for medical resident?

Dear Forum Members,

Thanks to you all for running one of the most informative sites regarding firearms in New England. I've learned a tremendous amount from previous posts on this board and am hoping you might have some advice for me.

I'm graduating medical school this spring, and will hopefully be beginning my residency in Boston in June. I have been shooting all of my life, but do not have a current MA LTC. I'm looking to apply for an unrestricted LTC when I move to Boston. Previous posts have indicated that physicians are among the "chosen few" BPD deems worthy of carrying firearms, but as a very junior MD some posts have implied I would have trouble. By way of background, I was a long-time EMT, have NRA pistol and rifle certifications, non-resident LTC in other states, and have attended 3 advanced shooting courses with nationally-regarded firearms instructors. My work will involve late and unusual hours in a specialty where I will routinely be working with intoxicated and violent patients.

1) Do I have a chance of being issued an unrestricted license?

2) Is there anything I could write in a "cause" letter that might cause BPD to look more favorably on my application?

3) Can I apply before my medical school graduation, or should I wait until I actually have a MA medical license before submitting my application?

Thanks for all of your help! I look forward to doing my best to treat the people of Boston.

Dan

Welcome Doc! Get your paperwork ready to go in advance and submit it when you get settled in June. I'd say you have a good chance of getting an unrestricted. You might also consider living in one of the outer burbs that are GREEN.

ETA: I know a LOT of Drs that have unresticted LTCs from Newton and Brookline.

Last edited:
If you have a prescription book Boston will issue an unrestricted LTC. Medical Doctors are one of the "special" classes of people Boston will issue unrestricted licenses to.