Better carry gun 9mm PPS or Kahr PM9 ?

glockstar

NES Member
Looking to purchase a new carry gun for 2011 and would love some imput on these two. I know the PM is more expensive but thats not my main concern. Reliability and Concealability are my focus, along with mag capacity and accuracy. Any first hand experience with either is much appreciated.

Thanks.

They both have the same capacity, so that's a wash. I haven't handled the PPS. It looks a bit bigger to me than the PM9, but I can't say for sure. I have a PM9 and I regard it as purely a pocket pistol. If you are going to be carrying in a belt holster, you can carry something that is larger and easier to shoot.

Not a big fan of the Walther pistols, I do have the PM9 and like it a lot. That being said I have no experience with the PPS but the PM9 is a nice carry piece.

The PPS is more of a "light IWB gun" and the PM9 is right on the edge of pocket class. They're not the same size, that's for sure. The PPS is considerably less expensive. If you're not going to pocket carry it, the PPS is probably the better value, assuming you can find someone to repair the MA trigger.

-Mike

Eh-hem...

images
[wink]

They do show up in the classifides.[grin]

I have no experience with the PPS, but do own the PM9. It is highly concealable, very comfortable, and highly accurate. I would highly recommend it. However, it does not like aluminum casings or 147gr. Brass and smaller grains are best, 110 - 124.... No issues with any JHP's.

Also, in the event you want to install a laser, I have found the ARMALASER to be a better design than the Crimson Trace Laser in this case.... The CTL kept "biting" my finger due to the ridges along the trigger guard. I have many CTL's on other weapons, and they are great, just in this case I feel the ARMALASER is better.

Good luck.

Eh-hem...

images
[wink]

They do show up in the classifides.[grin]