• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Best scope for the money

hey guys, I am very new to the gun community. I was wondering if anyone had some insight as to the best scopes for the money for A S&W M&P15T. I def dont want to break the bank considering how expensive everything is to get started in my new obsession. Looking to spend $250 or less, hopefully less! But dont really know what to look for or even where to begin. Like i said I am new and only go to the range for recreational target shooting. Thanks in advance for all the info and help. Also, I was told today (my first time at the range shooting my AR) that I was using the wrong ammo, Tulammo .223 55 gr steel case. Was told american AR's take better to brass because of the tight tolerances. Anyone have recommendations for better or correct ammo. Thanks again folks. love this forum

I subscribe to the buy once cry once philosophy. Don't cheap out on the glass. You'll only end up buying twice.

i have a number of inexpensive scopes that served me well over the years. i could have gotten lucky, four times in the row, but i'm thinking not. there are definitely some descent inexpensive brands out there and the statement that if you buy cheap you'll have to buy again is not 100% clear cut thing.

Also, I was told today (my first time at the range shooting my AR) that I was using the wrong ammo, Tulammo .223 55 gr steel case. Was told american AR's take better to brass because of the tight tolerances. Anyone have recommendations for better or correct ammo.

[rofl]

also you can check out this very helpful article on scoping your new AR: http://www.gunsamerica.com/blog/budget-optics-for-the-ar-15/

Last edited: