• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Best place to get optics

carny2k

NES Member
I'm looking to try and find a holosun 507k green dot optic for my p365xl but im new to them and wanted to find a decent place to but from

It's a 300$ optic at most places, not seeing much difference in price anywhere, nor in stock either. Find one in stock and go for it.

Ok wasn't sure if there was a preferred place. Ive found a few red dots in stock but I cant even find green dots out of stock

I'm very curious in green dots. Hope you find one so I can hear how you like it.

The color perceiving cones in everyone's eyes are slightly different, so I wouldn't go by another person's take on this preference. However, I'd say that green is generally superior in low/dim light where red can sometimes wash out if the ambient light color ends up on the warmer spectrum. But on the other end, green is supposed to wash out in broad sunlight for the exact same reason (ambient light getting closer to dot spectrum). Haven't had a chance to test that being in MA with only an indoor range, but I'm sure there's some truth to that. I like how quickly I could pick up green indoors, but did notice that on a pistol, my green night sights then became a distraction having three green irons dots and then another green dot for the sight. Everyone is going to have a difference preference though because everyone sees slightly differently.

The only real question is: Are red-green color blind people out of dot options?

Optics Planet is competitive... they will beat most places pricing, and if you qualify for any industry pricing MIL/LEO they are generally the cheapest in my experience

And then they get you the Optics bucks and keep you hooked. I’ve bought plenty from them, just don’t expect a quick turnaround, especially now.