• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Best ammo for Yugo SKS

I am new to the Russian firearm world and I just bought a 1976 SKS M59/66. I got 100 rounds of Wolf 122gr ammo with it and I did not have a problem shooting it today. But I know Wolf is back-ordered a lot and I want to know an alternative to Wolf ammo. Is Tula any good? It is very under-powered in my .223, and the .223 Wolf is much more powerful and produces a huge muzzle flash. Any advice on good, cheap 7.62x39 ammo would be appreciated. If you have any advice (recoil buffers, pads for the SKS) let me know as well! Thanks.

Avoid buffers. The rifle's design has very little recoil so I've never seen a need for one. Plus the 59/66 has a rubber butt pad to aid in reduced felt recoil when using the grenade launching system.

As far as ammo, Tulammo is ok but I've seen some duds and squibs more so in Tulammo than any other kind out there. Golden Tiger is my pick for the best 7.62x39 out there. Avoid commercial ammo (American Eagle, Remington, etc.) due to most of it having soft primers. Unless you're going to add a firing pin spring kit you'll most likely end up having slam fires if you shoot commercial ammo. Yugo brass cased ammo is often regarded as very accurate but is corrosive and you'll have to clean with some kind of water based cleaner after shooting it.

My advice is go to one of the NH shops and get a case of Golden Tiger. There are a few shops that people mention here on NES that carry it.

Thanks a lot Ray. Okay, I didn't think the recoil was bad at all but I thought it might improve the gun a little bit.

I think I heard that Riley's carries Golden Tiger. Is there a shop around here that does?

AFAIK the only shops that carry it are up north. You're better off saving some $ and buying a case. The average price is $220 - $240

Sent from my Ally using Tapatalk 2