• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Best 9mm ammo for Range and Defense

Hey everyone, been browsing the forums for a while and finally became a member. I just picked up my first handgun (Smith&Wesson M&P 9mm) and I am wondering which rounds everyone prefers for target shooting/practice, and which rounds you carry in your gun when not target shooting. I picked up some Winchester 90gr. Frangible for pretty cheap just to start off and have something for targets. Any help is appreciated, Im pretty new to handguns so hopefully this question doesnt get me flamed!

-Tom

For range use, anything cheap that works. I would suggest that you buy brass cartridge cases (not Blazer) and start saving your brass. If you shoot a lot, you'll eventually start to reload and this way you will have a ready supply of brass saved up. I suggest 115 or 124 gr. 90 gr is rather unusual and frangible is usually not cheap.

For home defense, you want a JHP. There are endless arguments about 115, 124, or 147 gr. You'll have to research that. Some of the best are Federal HST (NOT Hydrashok) and Winchester Ranger, but both are hard to find.

F/For home defense, you want a JHP. There are endless arguments about 115, 124, or 147 gr. You'll have to research that. Some of the best are Federal HST (NOT Hydrashok) and Winchester Ranger, but both are hard to find.
FWIW when PD's used 9mm Luger, it was suggested you use the same round they carried as issue. Not sure if there was ever much validity to that, especially now that many PD's are using .40 S&W.

Winchester white box is probably the most popular 9mm round, probably because of a high cost/quality ratio. I believe I have RemingtonGolden Saber JHP for HD.

The original 9mm Luger ammo was a 125 grain jacketed bullet fired at 355 M/S - about 1,165 fps. Although derided by many these days, that has been a "battle round" for 100 years now.