Armslist ship to door

SDG

Hi guys,

I was contacting a seller on armslist about a S&W 638 he said he didn’t want to meet for personal transfer because of The vid..but would ship it directly to me.

I’m still pretty new to the personal transfer thing but haven’t heard of this as an option before...Anyone know if this can be done legally? The guy is in MA so it wouldn’t cross state lines.

Wait. Is this a MA-illegal thing?

'Cuz it ain't a Federal-illegal thing.

May a nonlicensee ship a firearm by common or contract carrier?

A nonlicensee may ship a firearm by a common or contract carrier to a resident of his or her or her own state or to a licensee in any state. A common or contract carrier must be used to ship a handgun. In addition, federal law requires that the carrier be notified that the shipment contains a firearm or ammunition, prohibits common or contract carriers from requiring or causing any label to be placed on any package indicating that it contains a firearm and requires obtaining written acknowledgement of receipt.
[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(2)(A), 922(a)(5), 922(e) and (f); 27 CFR 478.30 and 478.31]

walk away!
No, RUN away!!

Could be a trap by Maura as well.

In any case, any purchases/transfers in MA must be FTF per MGL or thru an FFL (where the buyer has to show up and go thru background check).

What Fed Law allows is irrelevant when a state won't allow it (MA).

Yeah I’m not touching it, wouldn’t be able to shoot it till September 2021 when my range reopens anyways.

No, RUN away!!

In any case, any purchases/transfers in MA must be FTF per MGL or thru an FFL (where the buyer has to show up and go thru background check).

Yeah, that's why I asked if it was a MA-illegal thing. So many ways to run afoul of the laws there.

just ask to meet him across the street from the post office he was going to ship it from. You can hold up ID s against your windows while one of you does the FA10 on your phone. then do the drug deal toss of the gun in a duffle bag!