• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Are any SW RI towns better for CCW?

I'm a CT resident, and the wife wants to move closer to the shore of either SE CT or SW RI. CT is pretty horrific w/ our new guns laws, but would like to know if any towns in SW RI are reasonable for obtaining a CCW. I know you guys currently have it better on the AW restrictions, though subject to change w/ proposed bills. I'm going to veto an RI move if ARs and carry are off the table.

What about Middletown RI? I have a CCW permit issued by the town recently, we have a gun club in town, and 3 within a 20 minute drive. We have good beaches and the town is close enough to Newport, but not to close. PM me for any info.

Hopkinton, West Greenwich, North Kingstown and East Greenwich have been known to issue recently. Exeter is a bit problematic with their issues over licensing authority. South Kingstown and Charlestown are thought to issue, but there has been some mixed feedback lately, so maybe they don't. Westerly, Narragansett, and Richmond are unknown.

I think that's a tour of Southern RI for you.

We looked at a house in Bradford that we liked. Any sense of CCW approvals in that town?
i thought Westerly had a bad track record?