• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR15 feeding problem

Please excuse my AR ignorance. I am a complete noob in this domain.

I put together my first AR with a friend last year and had some pretty bad feeding problems. I'm home for the holiday and have a little free time to dork around with it. The feed ramps seemed to be cutting into the bullets as they were feeding. I used a cone dremel polishing cone to smooth out what felt like little burrs, and the rifle does now feed. However, it still seems like the issue is slightly there. If I feed a round, sometimes I can feel it hang up on the feed ramp, and also when I inspect the bullet, there is a cut almost the whole length of the bullet on its jacket.

What could be the cause of this? Mis-match in fit between the upper and lower? It is a little shaky, but from what I read, this can be normal. I have contacted CPWSA about this before I polished the feed ramp and he indicated he has never heard of this problem with his barrels.

Parts that might effect this: Spike's lower, DSA upper, CPWSA barrel. Currently feeding with PMAGs, 20/30/40, but I think it did it with some metal mags also.

I just got out the dremel and whatnot, and before i started going to town on the receiver indentations, i slowly fed a few rounds. they don't even hit that area.. they start to hit the feed ramp mid-way up on the barrel side and get stuck right at the end.. i guess i can try to smooth that area out a little.

are you slowly letting the BCG chamber a round? This happened on a few I had but it was only because I didn't let the BCG "SNAP" into Battery. But yea it does look like a little "LEDGE" take it down slightly

are you slowly letting the BCG chamber a round? This happened on a few I had but it was only because I didn't let the BCG "SNAP" into Battery. But yea it does look like a little "LEDGE" take it down slightly