AR question

I have a NIB colt HBAR that I bought in 1986, with a 1 in 7. I have been shooting highpower service rifle for the past 25 years with an M1. I am thinking about switching over to the AR. Can anyone point me in the direction of where I can find info on reloading for this twist rate?

Or,if this rifle has collectors value, should I keep it unfired, and look for another rifle?

I'd personally get a new upper to use and get a 2 stage trigger if you want to truly be competitive.

With a new upper for HP you'll have 1/4" adjustments instead of 1/2". A thinner front sight post and a free floated front barrel.

But if you want to shoot it stock, I've had good results with 69gr Nosler HPBT, 24.5gr varget and CCI 450 primers on my old HBAR.

1/7 will work with just about anything. I would thing you could even get the Sierra 90gr to shoot. The throat is so long on those GI barrels even the 80gr Sierras look like they are falling out of the case if you load them out to the lands.

R15 and Varget are the standard powders that will work with the lite and heavy bullets, but some people have very good results with 4895 if you have any of that kicking around.

B

www.handloads.com
is a good place to get the juices flowing. I've used that page numerous times to see what works well with different bullets. With a 1 in 7 twist you should have no problems running the full lengths of bullets from the very light to the very heavy, you just have to worry about OAL, with the heavy bullets if it's too long they won't feed properly not to mention that they won't fit into the magazine.

I shoot Sierra bullets. 69, 77, and 80 grains out of my Rock River 7.7 twist. Sell it and get a Rock River. Better trigger and the .223 Wilde chambered barrel shoots well out to 1000 yards.