AR handguard

hey guys...i had a question...i have a bushmaster preban xm15-e2s-a3 rifle and its got a varminter handguard on it...i wanted to put a tactical handguard and acquired a surefire m73 handguard...i brought it to Zero Hour Arms to have them remove the old handguard and replace it with the surefire...they called me today saying that the handguard isnt appropriate for my rifle??? can this be??? heres a description of the m73 forend...maybe theres something im missing? im hoping you AR afficianados can help me out here

"The SureFire M73 Picatinny rail forend is a high-quality Picatinny forend that replaces the factory installed forends allowing you to add an assortment of accessories to your Colt, DPMS, Olympic Arms PCR, Rock River Arms or any modern rifle that has a 6 5/8 inch in length forend.

This picatinny rail system will repace any modern rifle forends that are 6 5/8 inch in length. Ideal for mounting the Universal Tac Light. This is the perfect platform for the Surefire M951 series Tac Lights. Easy to install, no special tools needed. "

heres a pic of rifle wit hthe current handguard

01_30_3.jpg

That's all they said... that it's not "appropriate"?

As jack01730 posted, maybe it's the barrel nut, but that's a $5.00- $8.00 item at most and easily replaced. It would also need an A2 style front handguard end cap... another $2.00 - $3.00.

I have a Surefire rail system installed on my RRA M4rgery and it was a snap to install. It snugged up real nice once I tightened the two front allen screws... there's zero wobble or shifting. Put some Magpul rail covers on it and it was good to go.

Last edited: