• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR build...yet another guy probably asking the same questions...

Forgive me, but I am new to the world of AR's, although, I have shot plenty and family members own them.

I have a few questions regarding building an AR...

First, if you were to compare a AR that was mid range price, to a top of the line (built\store bought) what would be the differences?
I mean, how much lighter are we talking, features, etc...

I'm going to be in the market to start my own AR build, but I want the best parts possible, and to know what they are when I see them.

My budget is $5000, but if need be I'll go higher. That's not including a ACOG scope of some type, with a $3000. Budget.

$8000+ combined budget.

Thank you in advance.

Evan

That a really solid budget. You seem to be new to ARs, why not just buy an assembled upper?

My go-to gun is a Noveske N4 on a pre-ban lower (with a gessile trigger) topped with an ACOG TA-33.

How many do you want for the 5 grand?

Seriously, you can potentially build 2 top tier AR rifles, with top tier optics for 5 grand.
Or 4-5 quality iron sighted rifles.

Maybe karma NES giveaway one haha.

I'm just trying to learn the basic's without doing anything wrong.

That's really an obscene budget for an AR... That's like saying I want a fast car, but my budget is 2 million bucks...

You should be able to build/buy an exceptional rifle for about 1100-1300, after that you are just buying a name. What do you want it for, because that is how I would advise building it...

Personally what I would do is order a 14.5" upper with a light weight barrel and pinned low pro gas block from daniel defense. Have a PWS FSC556 pinned and welded on the barrel. Get an 11" Noveske NSR rail system. I'd use knights armament micro back up sights. Throw a BCM gunfighter charging handle on there as well.