• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR-15 Type Kit Build

I am interested in building my own AR. My plan would be to start with a stripped lower and then buy a complete upper kit. I am fairly new to shooting. Can anyone suggest a decent upper kit that would be MA legal and easy to build?

How difficult is it to build one? I may not be the handiest with my hands, but I am not an idiot and I believe that I could follow decent instructions. I am curious if trying to build an AR from a kit would be biting off more than I can chew.

Any thoughts/comments would be appreciated.

i've only done "semi" builds as I call them. what I mean is that I haven't conquered assembling a lower or upper from parts.

what I've done:
*buy a lower w / parts kit installed
*buy upper (complete with barrel and bolt group)
*buy butt stock

some of the components require special tools and vices to do it "to standard".... -not so say it can't be done "properly" by improsing either....

several NESers do their builds from stripped parts. like this one: http://www.northeastshooters.com/vb...814-AR-Build-Guide-in-PDF-comments?highlight=

there is also Ar15.com. my only caution is this:
I am fairly new to shooting.
-i suggest you read on some of the massachusetts gun laws (i.e. AWB) before you venture out and potentially buy something you are NOT supposed to have... I'll go further and suggest you just find a sexy rifle you like and buy it from a MA dealer. Familiarize yourself with it first, then venture out and do a build. Others may or may NOT agree, but I can dig up countless threads of newbies and oldies alike having problems with their builds [smile]

now to pick a brand, huh? [rofl]

good luck