AR-15 sling for High Power

I ordered a new upper for my rifle. I need a good sling when it shows up. Leather seems to be what I see at the few matches Ive attended. Is there a particular one that is best,and where do I order?
Thanks, Mike

Les Tam is highly regarded, but there is a wait.
Ron Brown is also spoken well of.
Nothing wrong with a Turner, either.

I use a ratty old USGI cotton web sling and love it. It cost me $5. A certain sling won't win or lose you any points, it's whatever you find easiest to use.

I use a ratty old USGI cotton web sling and love it. It cost me $5. A certain sling won't win or lose you any points, it's whatever you find easiest to use.

I am new to high power. One of my many issues is that I don't know what size to order, or how to set it up for optimum stability. What I do now is not correct . I have a nylon sling and just wrap it around until its tight .

Last edited:
Mike,

I take it you enjoyed yourself again today shooting at NFGA.... :)

Check out this video
http://www.creedmoorsports.com/shop/Slings/

Only thing different I and many do is one keeper above the frog and one below as opposed to both below the way Dennis shows in the Video.

When I started shooting Highpower I used Turner Leather then a Turner Biothane.
I now have Les Tam, Weller and Ron Brown slings. All are fine slings ( as is the Turner as Pat stated )

If I had to rate them in order "my opinion" would be. Tam, Ron Brown, Weller then Turner.

I would order the Ron Brown from Creedmoor. http://www.creedmoorsports.com/shop/Ron_Brown_Service_Sling-RBSLING.html

I'll bring a cotton web sling for you to use next weekend if you want.
As Pat said you won't loose points usning one sling over the other as long as they are used properly.
The web slings are easier to use.

It takes a little practice to learn how to properly use a leather sling.
I like them better than Web slings only because of the numbered holes for tension repeatability.