• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR-15 build

Hey guys so i been reading this forum for a few weeks now and u seem like a great group of guys...
So anyways i want to start an AR build and i want to get the satisfaction of building my own i can easily go out and buy the rifle...but wheres the fun in that? So i was hopeing maybe you guys can point me into the right direction amd where to start as in good brands ect.. Im fairly new to this so good brands is where im at a loss...thx in advance

AR15.com - read lots on there.

Brownell's has good tutorial videos. There are a lot of good sites for parts - Brownell's, MidwayUSA, Rainier Arms, AR15sales.com, Jabtac.com, etc.

i had an idea to build an AR from bottom up myself.
but after i crunched some numbers i figured out that building it will cost you more than getting one that was already built.
exception being you are using used and/or heavily discounted parts.

you can always get one assembled. take it apaprt and then put it back together [smile] at least save yourself a couple hundred bucks for ammo

I also looked into just buying a complete lower then buy a complete upper and its about the same price as just buying a complete rifle which at least i have more of a selection buying 2 halfs lol but like i said I'm new to this amd i dont want to just buy a complete rifle fpr 1000 then end up buyin parts to change things

- - - Updated - - -

Thanks for the info so far........thumbs up[smile]

Where you will save money is that when you build you ideally wont have any leftover parts. DSG Arms and Rainier arms are my two preferred sites for parts. Bravo Company USA also has a strong reputation but often seems to be out of stock on various items.