• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Apex kit or gunsmith work for my mp40

Hi Guys,
I would like to improve the trigger action on my full size mp 40. I am new to shooting and I am undecided as to going with afermarket parts like the Apex kit, or some gunsmith work from Derr Precision for example. Can anyone advise me on what way to go?
I would like to lighten up the trigger and remove the gritty feel that it now has. I mainly use it for occasional range use and for carrying with me, so I don't want it to be too light either.
Thankyou for any help, Eric

You can't go wrong either way, a good smith can get it pretty much just how you want it.
Get the Apex and give it a shot for yourself if you like to tinker, I believe there are a bunch you youtube vids out there.

Last edited:
If you are at all mechanically inclined, aren't skeered of opening up yer pistol, and like DIY, do the Apex kit. If you don't care for doing things yourself, are apprehensive about dealing with the mechanics of your firearm, or just don't have the time, go to a smith.

Anecdotally, I've had a few people tell me they like the Apex trigger I did on my M&P 9c better than smith jobs. I personally haven't tried a gun with a smithed trigger so I can't testify to that. I can tell you that I found it to be easy to do and I LOVE the trigger now. Its probably a little pricier, when all is said and done, than having a smith do it. However, you don't have to send your gun away for it either.

Check these past posts for more about how to do the install

RAM Install

Trigger Kit Install