Anyone fly fish? Just picked up a rod

Cluster F

USMC Veteran
NES Member
Anyone around Marlborough fly fish? Been wanting to get into it for a little but. The barrier of entry is a tad different than normal fishing. I have only ever fished for bass and stuff so I’m looking to try to do the same. I really don’t care if I just catch sun fish and stuff at first. I mainly fish from a kayak but does anyone know any spots I might have luck from shore that has enough room for a total newb to try? I still need to set my rod up and I just picked up two flys. I also need to hammer down the basics in my yard. Cabelas had the big horn rod and reel combo for half off so I picked that up.

Spend some time in your yard with no hook and just a little fly and practice with a target.

I started fly fishing as a kid and had a lake in my back yard. I worked so hard that I embedded the reel mount into my hand and did not even know it. It took two weeks to heal. By the time I was 16, I could roll cast 50 feet and overhead cast 70.

Waiting for the rain to let up so I can mess around. Been watching every YouTube video I can one what I’m supposed to be doing with my hand and my other hand tending the line. Mind blown haha compared to using a bait caster or spin

Not sure if they are still available, but many years ago I got a couple of books for Middlesex County called: "Fishing Guide to South Middlesex Ponds" and "Fishing Guide to Middlesex Rivers". The Pond book lists in Framingham the ponds, Farm Pond, Gleason Pond, Learned Pond, Nortons Pond, Sucker Pond, and Waushakum Pond. I never fished any of them, but thought you could check them out since they're in your town. There is always the Charles River, especially along Medfield, Dover, Sherborn, Wellesley, South Natick, etc. It used to be good fishing all along those areas.
As mentioned above, develop some good roll casting techniques as well as regular casting. Roll casting allows you to fish areas where you can't back cast.