• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Anyone else

MrsWildweasel

NES Member
Canning yet? I have started. Tomorrow I will be canning beets, greenbeans, pickles, and blanching and freezing summer squash and zucchini.
I've been processing it today in preparation for tomorrow.
Hubby made me an outdoor kitchen this year so I don't have to heat up the house.[grin]
I also of a batch of sauerkraut fermenting in the crock. (My first experiment with this.)
Also am trying pickled bologna. See how it comes out.[laugh]

This is my first year canning. My mom-in-law helped me can 17 pints of green beans. Unfortunately my garden is really struggling. I have had green tomato's on the vine for 3 weeks! I added 9-12-12 and they are turning. I am not going to get a big harvest. Onions and potatoes are small and I have had to spray for the blight.

Have you canned pumpkin? The pumpkins look like they are going to be good this year.

This is my first year canning. My mom-in-law helped me can 17 pints of green beans. Unfortunately my garden is really struggling. I have had green tomato's on the vine for 3 weeks! I added 9-12-12 and they are turning. I am not going to get a big harvest. Onions and potatoes are small and I have had to spray for the blight.

Have you canned pumpkin? The pumpkins look like they are going to be good this year.

My pumpkins aren't ready yet. That is on the list. We lost all of our tomatoes. We had over 50 plants. We are really peeved on that one.
We got a spaghetti squash.
Didn't get peas this year, something decided they were tasty. At least I got beets so far, carrots should be coming along hopefully.
I planted sugar pumpkins so I am hoping I get a decent crop of them to can for my pumpkin pies.
We are getting there, I just hope next summer is way better than this one.