• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Any tips for the new hunter?

Hello all,

I'm a rookie hunter...I got myself a bow, a blind and finally all the gear (the only thing that kept me out of the woods this season, was lack of cash for the gear, but now I'm good to go). I'm looking for some tips, and possibly some location info. The one day I did get out at the end of this past deer season I went to he Harold Parker WMA...it looked pretty active, but nothing aside from a fawn presented a shot. I'm basically looking for info and tidbits that you wish someone told YOU when you were starting out. Any help, cool stories or any other contributions to my hunting wisdom is greatly appreciated!

Scully

P.S. If anyone wants to get together and do some hunting this year, let me know! I just got a shotgun so I'm doing research on birding too!

You have a dog to go with that shotgun? A walk in the woods with a gun is ok and all but if you want a bird you'll want a dog.

Can't tell you much about deer hunting. I have 8 that walk through my yard all the time and I'll I do is look.

No dog. I have a cat, but she is untrainable. I was thinking of maybe hitting up one of those reserves where you can rent a dog this year...

As far as the bow hunting goes, practice is the key. If you cant hit a paper plate consistantly at 30 yards or better, stay out of the woods.