• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Any Smallbore shooters?

PatMcD

NES Member
I decided I needed get off my can and practice for this upcoming HP season. I started shooting in a local "Geezer" Match. Rimfire, 50ft, A36 target. The "Geezer" part is that it is prone and offhand only; no sitting. 30 shots for record, unlimited sighters.
Most all the other guys shoot scopes, but I don't have one that will focus down that close, so I just shoot the irons on my Anschutz 1413.
You probably think; 50ft, indoors, no wind, a .22, what's the big deal? I'll tell you what; it's not as easy as it sounds! Prone is no big problem, but offhand is another matter. I'm used to the fact that if you put it in the black, the worst you got was a 9. With these targets the 10-ring is what, maybe .2"! The 5-ring is a short 3/4" or so away.
I took up this sport as a practice for Highpower. Now I need to practice for my practice! When does it end?

PatMcD said:
...I took up this sport as a practice for Highpower. Now I need to practice for my practice! When does it end?

That's the great part! It doesn't.

Basement rimfire in winter in prep for Action Plate this spring;

Action Plate this spring in prep for IDPA this summer.

More action plate and IDPA in fall to prepare for Basement rimfire in winter.

Rifle load development in summer in prep for hunting season & the early fall "running deer" shoots.

Now, what happens if I want to add service rifle shoots, or a primitive biathalon next year? Thank G_d I don't shoot trap or skeet (yet).

Was this the match that was shot last weekend? I'm hoping to make up to the one on the 19th. Have to see what's going on here first.

Pat,
The madness never ends........Gallery rifle is hard work, and like you said, you can't blame the wind or changing light conditions. Practice is practice. Just thinkof that .2 "X ring" at 50 ft. as an X at 200 yds.