• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Any problems with Wally’s Winchester white box 9mm?

I have multiple issues with 9mm white box. In different pistols have sworn it off use blazer and Remington as cheap range ammo. Had a squib pulled down the rest found 2 more with no charge. Had another with no box with no extractor rings cut. Ts usa has rem for 17 cents around right now

I’ve run lots of that. Not premium and you get what you pay for....sort of. I’ve had a few hiccups, maybe 1/200 rounds but aok for range fodder.

I was at the range the other day and had a squib with a 9mm Winchester white box ammo from WalMart? I’m wondering if anyone has had any issues with this ammo.

BTW, I’m cheap and I already know I’m not using premium ammunition.

I have been shooting for over 40 years and I'm telling you that Winchester White box is crap, there's no nicer way to put it. I wouldn't take a box for free. If you have a quality firearm then use quality ammo.

Wow- I have not had any problems with WWB, but a squib is certainly a concern. Squibs give me the willys in case they are not detected and followed by a live round.

I shoot WWB all the time. I highly recommend it for plinking or just for fun target shooting. The brass cases can be reloaded just fine. I see no problem shooting WWB in any quality firearm for stated reasons.

This has been my experience, too. Thousands of rounds of it in .38, .380, 9mm, .45.

Maybe a dud or two, but certainly not a common problem, and never a squib. You figure it was primed but no powder charge?

Last edited:
Yes. A quick google or on-site search will tell you WWB is garbage. That doesn't mean people haven't shot it successfully, or that it doesn't "work" at all, but it is an inferior and unreliable ammo even when compared with surplus and combloc crap made with lesser materials.