• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Any experienced hunters in the Boston area willing to show a newbie the ropes?

Today I finally completed the mandatory hunter's safety course and bought my very first hunting license! I'm 100% committed to doing this, but there's just one small problem - nobody I know in Mass hunts. Reading around online, it seems that everybody else learned to hunt with dad when they were 10, so I'm unfortunately 15 years late for that option.

Seeing as how I've never done this before, I'm a bit hesitant to just strap on a pair of waders and wander into the woods with a loaded shotgun. I've been looking into guided duck hunts and game preserves, but given the cost I'd only be able to afford to go out a couple times, plus I think that it would be less of a learning experience than a luxury.

So if there are any seasoned hunters out there in the Boston area willing to pass on some knowledge to a eager newbie, I'd love to buy them a beer and introduce myself!

What are you looking to hunt? ducks, geese, turkey, small game, upland game, deer?

Cerfur put together a good basic guide to MA hunting a couple of years ago, the thread is worth a read. http://www.northeastshooters.com/vb...-in-Massachusetts-from-Cerfur?highlight=guide

I'm not really 'near boston' so hopefully someone close will take you up on your offer to carry their gear in and out of the woods for the coming season.

To the OP, SPEND TIME IN THE WOODS! You will NOT learn ANYTHING unless you do. You don't need anything but your own motivation to get out there, so get going.

And not, not twenty minutes or an hour at your local dog walking spot. Make the trip into some big woods and spend a full day, you'll be surprised how much you observe just by being there.

Or, it may just not be for you. Sounds like everyone you know is a yuppie.