Antenna resources?

citoriguy

NES Member
Hi all - I am looking into getting a base station that I can set up in my home office, and am looking for an antenna to mate with it. My office looks out on to the main road, so I’d likely have to route the antenna up through the ceiling, into the attic, then on to the back of the house.

I’d really prefer to have a small antenna just outside my window to avoid doing all of that work if at all possible. I’m okay with sacrificing range in the near term while I figure out a more dynamic and permanent solution.

What resources do you all use to acquire antenna parts and accessories? I’m studying for the General license now, and am looking at used base receivers of all types, including some with 2 antenna ports on the back. Is Gigaparts a good place to get started? Any local places (near Acton/Concord/Maynard)?

Thanks in advance,

CG

Last edited:
Band(s)? Jack.

Basically whatever I’m allowed to under a General license. I’m in the Acton/Maynard/Concord area and there are some local PD/Fire/Emergency channels that I would like to get, and I’d like to start learning more about repeaters.

I guess I’m looking for versatility while I learn more.

I'm just a couple of weeks ahead of you on this track - Technician in November, vanity call in December (just 'cuz I wanted to do it), General in February.

Technician -- UHF/VHF , mostly local repeaters , on 2m , 1.25m, and 70cm . Primary resource is Minuteman Repeater Assoc
General -- adds the medium and long-distance HF bands, from 80m - 10m .
I'm not CW-literate, mostly due to laziness for the learning.

You want to work distant stations - investigate HF equipment and antennas.
You want to work nearby stations and repeater nets? You'll need a lot better than what I have - multi-band antenna on the Yaesu VX-6 H/T. I'm lucky to reach the driveway
from inside the house.