Another "letter to the chief" thread

kalash

NES Member
My finacee is finally going to apply for her LTC but the town wants a letter* outlining why she's applying. I'm thinking the gist of it should just be (from her):
-I want ALP, as that would cover any contingency/reason for use;
-My fiance is a certified instructor and has always stressed safety;
-I'm a doctor, have access to controlled substances, and frequently walk to an unattended garage at night.

They also want a letter of reference*, which I'm happy to provide. For that I'm thinking:
-I've known Dr. XYZ for # years and we live together in -town-;
-I'm a state certified instructor, have taught Dr. XYZ the course, and she's been my best student;
-Throughout many years of taking her to the range she's always been very safe;
-She's an upstanding citizen of good moral character.

Should I also mention that I'd like her to have legal access to the guns we have at home?

From what I've heard the town gives out unrestricted these days so I'm not too worried about a female doctor getting a neutered license but I also figure they want more than "ALP" in the letter.

*Since most of these threads seem to end a particular way: yes, I know all about how these requirements are BS, we should fight them, etc. Not what I'm looking to discuss at the moment.

I’m looking to exercise my rights to own an carry a gun, for any an all lawful purposes.
My 2 cents.

Point #3 is definitely helpful, but take out controlled substances and the garage clause, assuming she works at a hospital(many hospitals have a “no weapons policy” and if they call her employer to check her out, the employer may think she’s carrying st work. Whether or not she does is up to her.) and put in something wrt to how she is subject to random background checks by her employer (many hospitals do this) and has to certify at every licensure renewal that she has had no criminal interaction with the law.