Another "let's be careful out there" moment

Do the grains look the same? I thought Varget was more stick like and not flakey like most pistol powders? I know that's a dangerous assumption but when it looks different you should question it. I had a recalled lot of IMR4895 and the color was lighter than the older and newer lots.

I worked as a chemical technician, I mixed stuff to make 2 part polymer adhesives. We had instruction binders for every product we made. The instructions included where to get what you needed, how to handle it, how to weigh and measure, how to mix. Every step of the way you checked the label of the ingredient you had. By the time you got back to your workspace you've re-read the label and compared it to the picture in the book 10x.

I worked as a chemical technician, I mixed stuff to make 2 part polymer adhesives. We had instruction binders for every product we made. The instructions included where to get what you needed, how to handle it, how to weigh and measure, how to mix. Every step of the way you checked the label of the ingredient you had. By the time you got back to your workspace you've re-read the label and compared it to the picture in the book 10x.
This is what we did for the chem techs that used to work for me. They would have to log the lot #s as well as the chemicals. We always emphasized to not memorize the recipe, but get to know the physical color, structure, etc. of the chemicals.

Some people just go on auto-pilot and don't give it a thought. They figure that all the settings are the same and all they need to do is fill everything up and hit the "start" button, so to speak.

Harsh reminder of the forces at play and not to get complacent. I keep thinking about getting into reloading, things like this just make me wary, because of the space I would do it in, has my 60" TV that I watch while cleaning guns, mounting scopes, etc.