• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

An intruder is at your door

You are in bed sleeping but awaken by the noise (or wife elbowing you). Goal is to secure residence. How fast are you getting to your firearm using lawful measures of security?

I am a newbie and curious of quick ways to get to my sidearm. Where is a good place to keep it? Under the bed?

Class recommendations welcome

There's a lot more to this but here are a few tips:

First, Doberman. Rottie, GS wakes you up and buys time - you need time. And cover. And a plan. And training...

Hit the hidden panic button you had installed in your bedroom - the one that sets off the LOUD wireless siren while wife calls 911 on cell phone and stays on
the phone - "we're being broken in to, my husband is 6' tall with mustache and brown hair and has a GUN with a flashlight"...

Where you keep your Surefire equipped 9MM whatever (w/HST's) and spare mag is your business.

Assuming you've had the training necessary to save your life - if not go to Sig or whatever but get trained.

More to this but get trained.

I have a bedside safe, takes about 1 second to open it. Had a bump in the night last year (someone walked up our long driveway and tried to get in the garage.) I was out the bed, pistol in hand very fast, .45 with a light on the rail.

I'm a light sleeper and so is my dog.

Intruder will not be down for breakfast and local sheriff will gladly notify the coroner to come here and pick up the body.

Average sheriff's response time around these parts is 20 mins on a good day, an hour if they're busy. People don't "intrude" around here because they know they are more likely to get killed than not....period end of story.

As for it happening here, I'll likely greet them at the door with a Romi AK with 85rd drum after they've tripped one or more of the perimeter motion sensors and set off my three dogs.