• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Alien Carry Permit

I'm looking for advice regarding alien carry permits. It seems to me that under Chapter 140, Section 131H I can obtain a permit to own and carry a firearm but not to purchase one.

Here are some details for clarification purposes:
1) I am a resident alien. That is I am an EU citizen with a green card.
2) I have been a resident of Massachusetts for over 2 years and will remain here for at least an other 2 years.
3) My primary interest is in shooting .22 LR at a range.
4) My secondary interest would be shooting a 9mm pistol, also at a range.
5) I am not interested in carrying any weapon on my person, either in the open or concealed, nor am I interested in using a weapon for self defense, either in my home or elsewhere. My only interest in carrying a weapon is to get it to and from a shooting range. (All though, to be honest, if my Father in law were ever to invite me to go hunting with him I'd want to be able to do so legally).
6) I have some prior experience with both of the above weapons. Mostly while with the Boy Scouts (.22 LR) and as a guest of members of gun clubs (9mm).
7) I have never illegally fired a weapon or even touched an illegal weapon.
8) I have never been charged with a felony.

So I'm wondering what my options are.
If I obtain an alien carry permit and my wife, who is a natural born US citizen and also a Massachusetts resident, gets a regular carry permit, could she buy a firearm and legally lend it to me?
Could I obtain an alien carry permit, purchase a firearm in an other state and transport it back to Massachusetts? If so what steps would I have to take to register it in Massachusetts?
Did I misinterpret the law? That is can I actually purchase a firearm with an alien carry permit?