• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ak question

I'm new to aks so bear with me, but when you set the rear sight, do you cover the desired number or set it to the line below the number?

I've never shot one of my AKs past 100 yards. I always figured those numbers were just decorative.

My sliders are always all the way back.

The rear sight, like on most manly open sights will click to specific position only, simultaneously indicating your range in whatever glorious language.

I thought out past 100 yards AK's were just for area effect fire?

Now, if you want to shoot something past 100 yards accurately get yourself and AR. [smile]

your probability to hit anything drops with distance, much more so for AR shooters who take 5 min to fire a single shot through a tiny peep sight (ignoring the rest of the field) at a static target that don't shoot back. Once this comrade can shoot well enough, platoon leader will assign him a designated marksman's rifle.

your probability to hit anything drops with distance, much more so for AR shooters who take 5 min to fire a single shot through a tiny peep sight (ignoring the rest of the field) at a static target that don't shoot back. Once this comrade can shoot well enough, platoon leader will assign him a designated marksman's rifle.

Speaking of AK's when is your next shovel build party?

my dad can pickup ak-74 and put all 30 rounds on the target at 350 yards using 'crappy' AK tangent sights. mind you when he served he did it with an SKS. i, myself can't match his performance with either gun, but then again he went to Army and i went to college. just gets to show that it's a skill not a type of sight that make an accurate shooter.

Last edited:
The rear sight, like on most manly open sights will click to specific position only, simultaneously indicating your range in whatever glorious language.