• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Advice on joining

Hey all, wondering if any current/ prior service could lend some friendly advice. I've always thought about joining the service ever since high school. I went and talked to several recruiters here and there and never made the committment. Anyways, I have always been interested in the medical/medic role. I have been an EMT for close to 7 years and work in a busy urban setting and feel that my experience as a civilian would benfit me in the military. I am currently 24 and thinking that the Reserves would be the best way to go. Thoughts?
PM Martlet. He'll hook you up with honest info.

Just remember, Recruiters have billets to fill and quotas to make. Never ever accept what a recruiter is telling you unless they are willing to give you it in writing with an approved signature on it. If it's not in writing, you're not going to get it.

Just remember, Recruiters have billets to fill and quotas to make. Never ever accept what a recruiter is telling you unless they are willing to give you it in writing with an approved signature on it. If it's not in writing, you're not going to get it.

This. Can't say it enough. Learned the hard way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

this... Plus do some research into whatever job your considering and how easy it translate into cilivian life.

Since your already a EMT, and want to go medic... See what involved in transferring over your skills if you want to advance your cilivian career.

My brother was a Navy medic attached to a Marine unit... When he got out he couldn't do shit without further schooling/ classes.

I was a C-130/ C5 mechanic.. When I got out, the FAA just let me take a few tests and gave me a cilivian mechanics license.

All about being able use the skills Uncle Sam taught you.

This.

And this.