80% jigs

So, I'm toying with the idea of building an 80% lower for my .300BLK pistol build, but I've never done it before. While it's not a 'budget build', it is a build on a budget. The core parts I'm still lacking are lower, barrel and gas tube/gas block, and handguard.

Since I know we have plenty of 80% lower experience here, what's the best bang for the buck when it comes to jigs? And 80% lowers, for that matter? Looks like no matter which way I go, it's not going to make $$ sense to go the 80% route unless I do at least a few of them or convince a few friends to build 80%'s and go in on the jig. Even at that, blem lowers can be had for about the same price, but, whatever. I want to do it this way.

Well, if I was making a few, and some friends were making a few, I'd consider going in together on a used "mill-drill", rather than a jig. It's easier to do right with a mill, and you'll find lots of other fun projects to make later on. Or just sell the mill when done.
A small mill-drill can be found used for ~ 600 or less, depending upon size.

There are jigs available from the Ares Group buy for loan. Talk to Golddiggie about one.
They are the AimSmall jig.

Malodave

The jigs are made by aimsmall on calguns.net... You'll still need access to a proper mill in order to machine the lowers, held by the jig. You'll also want some specific end mills to do the job. DRO's, while not critical, will ensure you don't have any ****ups while machining. While you can get a mill for ~$600, you'll also spend another $150-$300 on tooling to make it functional. That includes a good vise, collets (to hold the bits), end mills, etc. Then more on good DRO's (don't get the cheap ones, spend the $$ to get good ones). By the time you're done, you'll spend another $600+ to get that mill to an usable state.

If you don't want to spend that kind of money, but still want to go the 80% route, PM me. I can help you out for a lot less $$. [wink]