• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

80% AR build/build party info

If you wish to attend or host a build party post your location.
Also drill presses and mills would be the most in demand pieces of equipment for these parties. List what you might have that would help out in that area.

Last edited:
I live in Malden and would like to attend a build party, (I'm throwing down on a jig). I'll drive a reasonable distance to do this. It's my first time and I don't know much about ar's so it'll be a learning experience for me.

I'm in 'ze Boston area. Will drive for party. donated to the NES Jig Fund as well. Total noob when it comes to machining, only bought one 80% AR15 lower. Will need hand holding.

As for tools.. I've got hand tools! and punches.. and specialty BMW tools, bout it.

Am located in central NH (near Laconia) and will drive 2 hours to attend a build party.

Also, I have a Taylor horizontal milling machine with some tooling and a 9" by 4 1/2 foot South Bend lathe. Also a floor stand drill press. I am not a machinist and would like to learn to use these tools. Am willing to buy more tooling. Need help with set up to do AR lowers.

Within 50 miles of Nashua, NH. I have Vice Blocks and hand tools to bring.
I do have a table top Mini Mill, But I would have to re tram the movements
I am looking at adding a 3 axis DRO (digital read out) to it. I could transport it
weather permitting. I also have some tooling for it. I have 3 lowers to finish.

Malodave

Last edited:
in for the build party. I am at the 93/95 exchange in woburn. I will be willing to travel a bit to build. I have stand up press that could manage this. I would love to have the build someplace with CNC machining. I would kick in for tooling, beer, lunch whatever the host needs.