• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

.45 ACP revolvers?

I have been really thinking a lot about CCW lately now that I've been doing it for a few months. I ended up trading a few guns and arrived at a walther pps I picked up in trade from a NESer - great weapon, I can't find many faults with it and it conceals well. Most importantly, after a few times at the range and really working with the short sight radius, I am able to hit the target and feel good with it.

But...

my brain wanders a lot and I've been thinking more and more about revolvers. I do have a model 60 that Id never get rid of - its accurate and reminds me of my grandfather, who carried one with him as a BPD Detective in the 60s and 70s. Ive never cared for the price point of the .357 round and have always preferred, due to the reams of anecdotal evidence in articles and from my own father, who carried a 1911 in Vietnam, the .45ACP round...which is great, but no matter the work I've done to my RIA piece, I'll always have it on my mind if its going to jam at a critical moment.

So onto the revolvers. Any thoughts here? I've learned that with a good holster, belt and mindset, you can pretty easily conceal a Howitzer, if you so choose, so sizing isnt a concern. Im not yet immediately enamored with the SW Governor, although it does meet a lot of my initial requirements in a weapon. Because the judge won't pack the .45 ACP, its out of the running...I have eyed the model 625 a few times and may hunt one down at the next gun show....does anyone have any experience carrying a .45 ACP revolver? What are my choices?

I have no experience CCWing it, but in terms of choice, the Smith Model 22 seems worth considering. I love the feel of it with the Tyler T-grip. Out of the box trigger is pretty rough, but that can be addressed. Here's mine.

SWModel22.jpg