• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

CMP/NRA/MA legal high power AR-15 service rifle

I am interested in getting an AR-15 for NRA/CMP High Power Rifle service rifle competition in MA, have a couple of questions though.

If I get a new Post-ban AR-15 then it cannot have a flash suppressor in MA, so most of the places that I have looked sell them with a pinned/soldered/welded muzzle brake installed instead for orders to MA. However, under NRA/CMP rules for service rifles, a muzzle brake is not allowed. Also, under NRA/CMP rules going with a plain crown without threads wouldn't be allowed either since that would be an external modification. So is normally done here, I can't see a way out of the legal/rule paradoxes.

If there is something I am missing, I apologize in advance... I am new to this, and couldn't find anything with searches.

Thanks,
~Droid

The flash supressor was not mandatory in the CMP rules. It still isn't. Rock River sells their CMP model either way.

(6) The flash suppressor and bayonet lug may be removed or the rifl e may
be manufactured without a fl ash suppressor or bayonet lug. Barrel length
may not exceed 20 inches, as measured to the end of the rifl ing in the
barrel.

By the way, here's the entire CMP Match Rulebook. Very good reference..
http://www.odcmp.com/Competitions/Rulebook.pdf

All I get is the index page when I try the link....

The NRA doesn't have their rulebook online so I can't check.

Last edited:
All I get is the index page when I try the link....

The NRA doesn't have their rulebook online so I can't check.

If you go to this index page, you need to mouse over the section numbers to follow the link. For some reason the NRA thinks that normal people would know that, given that the links are not highlighted. You're not the only one that didn't get it. [thinking]

B