LEOSA

Ive heard there is a LEOSA card you need to apply for in order to take carry in other states? I know the Military is doing this. what about active civ leo? is there any additional steps needed to carry concealed on your creds in other states? or is the creds all you need?

Just your ID. If I recall the retired id may require some universal language on it about qualifying.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Assuming that the OP is in MA . . . read the MA CMRs on this as MA did somethings with LEOSA that violate the Federal Law (intentionally). I'm not certain but you might need a LE ID that has specific language on it even for active LEOs. I just don't recall and don't have time right now to look it up.

Len,

I'm an MSP Certified LEOSA Instructor. I know Active LEO's need credentials only. I'm lost about what CMR's conflicting with LEOSA you mean!?
[thinking]

Len,

I'm an MSP Certified LEOSA Instructor. I know Active LEO's need credentials only. I'm lost about what CMR's conflicting with LEOSA you mean!?
[thinking]

Long story that I posted here in 2007 when the hearings were held on the LEOSA and ID CMRs and subsequent heated meeting of GCAB on the subject. One GCAB member was a retired BATFE agent and complained that some of the requirements violated Federal Law, both he and I were ignored by the chairman and the Boston PD Sgt in charge of ballistics (at that time) who were vociferous at minimizing the numbers of LEOs that would be able to be qualified under LEOSA in MA! Here's the thread, but sadly I found it necessary to delete the real meat of it back in 2007.
https://www.northeastshooters.com/v...R-Bonded-Warehouses-amp-LEOSA?highlight=LEOSA

As I stated above, I wasn't sure about the ID credential requirement for MA. I am pretty sure (but not 100%) that it has to have a phone number and perhaps some wording to be LEOSA OK.