• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Walmart, firearms, and MA residents?

RLBreton

NES Member
I popped into Salem NH Walmart on the way home and the guy was quite excited to tell me about the Black Friday firearm specials but once he heard I was a MA resident, he apologized that he couldn't sell me any firearms. I assumed he was misinformed until he showed me the Wally World pc on the desk and MA was tagged in red and lined out--the legend at the bottom of the page confirmed it.

So full of win...I gotta get the hell outta here!

I popped into Salem NH Walmart on the way home and the guy was quite excited to tell me about the Black Friday firearm specials but once he heard I was a MA resident, he apologized that he couldn't sell me any firearms. I assumed he was misinformed until he showed me the Wally World pc on the desk and MA was tagged in red and lined out--the legend at the bottom of the page confirmed it.

as long as the long gun is Mass compliant they can sell to you. If they won't it is either a mistake on their part or a company policy, not the law.

Correct--it's not the law, it's company policy from corporate. The guy said something about MA threatening the 7-round capacity limit and corporate pulled the plug. Blacklisted indeed [rolleyes]

Ran into the same thing when I was working in Rutland, VT last week and stopped by the local Walmart. Tried buying ammo and was chatting with the woman behind the ammo counter and mentioned I'm from MA and she turned this handwritten sign around above the cash register and said she couldn't sell ammo to MA residents as well as NY, NJ, or CT residents. She's like, "yeah ya know since all the shootings and stuff down there". I was like okay seriously!? Ridiculous.