• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

22LR?

So I'm going to be purchasing a 22 semi auto pistol for the wifes B-Day. I'm stuck between the Sig Mosquito and the Walther P22. Does anyone have experience with the two? Or any other suggestions. She did fire a Ruger before but wasn't to impressed with it.

Thanks...

I was very unimpressed with the walther p22, the mosquito feels better in your hands...but if you get the mosquito be sure to polish the feed ramps to ensure proper feeding of ammo

I've shot both. The Mosquito has a wierd trigger. P22s tend to have more feeding issues. In my opinion the Sig is the better of the two. My Sig eats up Federal Value Packs. It's much more sound.

I have no experience with the sig, but I have used a P22, I liked it, no feeding problems for the first 200+ rounds, then it jammed up a couple times.
Overall experience was good, about 5 jams in 600 rounds, in less than an hour. It felt comfortable, and was accurate. I would buy one if I was in the market for a .22

I've been asking lots of folks' advice here about gettting a .22 rifle, for Appleseed, also looking up reviews online. Myself I need the SA feed but you might be fine with bolt action.

I have been told over and over again "get a Ruger 10/22!!!" This is from folks at Appleseed and they train people with rifles, mostly .22's, so they know their stuff. One instructor told me this (hope he doesn't mind the quote from a PM,) I was asking about the difference between a Ruger 10/22 and a Remington 597:

Here's a comment that just got posted yesterday in the LTR thread on www.appleseedinfo.org:

I will have to look deeper into getting a semi-auto .22 rifle, Remington has a very nice one, but a bit costly. Will have to look at them harder, after paying the bills.