1907 sling use, frogs out vs frogs in

I recently sprung for a good quality leather 1907 sling. After looking for instructions on how to install and use online, I came across what seems to be a minor split among the shooting public on which way the sling should be used for competition.

The CMP has instructions on the traditional way, in which the flat sides of the frogs face away from the rifle. The two keepers are on opposite sides of the upper frog when making the arm loop. The loop it tightened by hand and doesn't seem to get any tighter from sling tension holding the rifle.

However, lots of shooters online seem to prefer the opposite. The frogs face towards the rifle, and both keepers are on the lower strap of the loop. Sling tension holding the rifle seems to tighten the loop in this configuration, resulting in a very tight arm loop.

I am new to using the 1907 sling and am curious why one would prefer one over the other. What reason would one use one or the other? I am not really interested in what is considered historically "correct", but rather what provides maximum stability.

Advice much appreciated!

I recently sprung for a good quality leather 1907 sling. After looking for instructions on how to install and use online, I came across what seems to be a minor split among the shooting public on which way the sling should be used for competition.

The CMP has instructions on the traditional way, in which the flat sides of the frogs face away from the rifle. The two keepers are on opposite sides of the upper frog when making the arm loop. The loop it tightened by hand and doesn't seem to get any tighter from sling tension holding the rifle.

However, lots of shooters online seem to prefer the opposite. The frogs face towards the rifle, and both keepers are on the lower strap of the loop. Sling tension holding the rifle seems to tighten the loop in this configuration, resulting in a very tight arm loop.