MA Gun Laws

Yes and no. You need to comply with the law, but I don't know why you need to follow the FRB's directions. Specifically, the law that requires you to report a change of address doesn't say anything about using a specific form (not that their form isn't handy) or about photocopying your license. If they want to pay me for the photocopies, I'll send them. Until they do (or until they pass a law requiring it) I'll simply do what the law requires.

Ken

Moving within the same city -- laws?

I'm a Peabody resident with a Class A restricted carry license. I'll be moving from my home to a condo with my family over the summer. We don't know the exact room number where we'll be. The place is still being built. How should I bring this up the police and when?

Laura,

Welcome to the forum!

When you move, just send the form as noted above. No discussion with any PD is required. They don't re-issue the LTC. That's all there is to the process.

I've moved but still live in the same town. A LEO told me that I don't have to file anything because I'm still under the same PD. Anyone heard otherwise?

Yup, legally you MUST notify if your ADDRESS changes. Thus, if you move to a new street in the same town you MUST notify. Failure to do so within the alloted time (don't recall #), it is grounds for denial of any future LTC!

Part of the purpose of notification is so that they can send you your renewal notice. It won't be delivered even 1 street over 2 years from now!

SiameseRat said:
I've moved but still live in the same town. A LEO told me that I don't have to file anything because I'm still under the same PD. Anyone heard otherwise?

Even if only your zip code changes (the town/city is expanding so they redistrict the zip codes) or your street address changes, i.e., your 100, but they put a house in front of you, so you become 100A, etc.
It's ANY change (with the exception of the four digits following your zip code).