1. If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

2. Dismiss Notice

Anyone ride a 250?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by nightpoison, Apr 5, 2012.

1. nightpoison

nightpoison NES Member

So I'm new to motorcycles, and I'm really looking for a low cost commuter bike. I'm looking at a Cbr250r or a ninja 250r. The cost fits my budget $4k, insurance is right on as well. Ill only be going less than 5 miles a day for work. So a 600cc bike is over kill. I will eventually but being new and budget this is where I'm at.

Between the 2 bikes what do you suggest?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk

2. Fixxah

Fixxah NES Member

Get a scooter or something big. Distance doesn't matter to me. You want to have enough power to evade trouble. Or, go the scooter route, they'll laugh just as hard if you get the 250.

3. jmh992003

jmh992003 Member

I would look at the ex500 from Kawasaki. Not a huge power boost over the 250, but I think youd feel more comfortable on it if you did want to do more than just a commute. Its a Vtwin so it doesnt make near the power of an inline 4cyl 600 cc bike its great to learn on, light weight and affordable.

4. willbdavis

willbdavis Member

Most of us started on small bikes. Buy what feels right to you. Upgrade if/when you feel the need.

For me I like to go distance and explore the back roads of New England and beyond. So I needed a bigger bike.

If economy is the reason buy a scooter. Cheap, sips gas, reliable.

5. SJan

SJan NES Member

My first 'street' bike was a 250 duel sport. It was terribly underpowered for street riding. After a week on 2 wheels you will wish you went with something bigger

6. FrankSpencer

FrankSpencer Member

My first bike

thumbnail.jpg

7. appraiser

appraiser NES Member

you will out grow that 250 in weeks, do yourself a favor and go 500cc or larger.