• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

I think I am interested in getting in to reloading...

Hey, title kind of says it all. I have been doing some looking around for a few months, and I am getting increasingly more interested in getting into reloading. I'll let the experts direct me, but I think that I would like to start on a single stage or turret press. A big reason for this is initial cost, lower volume of ammunition production (and honestly I would consider this another hobby so I don't need to be hyper-efficient), and the likelihood that I will be back in a smaller college apartment soon so a small setup may be all I can get away with.

I was looking at something like the Lee four hole classic turret press, am I going the wrong direction? My understanding is if I moved up to a progressive press in the future that most big brand dies would carry over. I like the ability to use it as a semi-progressive and single stage press, and that it has a small foot print. With a more simple setup like this, what else would I need to get started? Powder measure, scale, calipers, tumbler/media, etc... Again to start out, I will be doing a relatively small volume at a time, and available space is a consideration.

My priorities in ammunition are .40S&W, 30-06, .223/5.56, 9mm, and I see .45 and and .308 on the horizon. I know I will need to figure out the whole living in MA situation with regard to getting supplies, and I'm hoping that doesn't drive the cost up to unreasonable amounts. Also, there is nothing wrong with running cast lead bullets through handguns I'd assume, as I've seen .40 for around 70/1000.

Thanks for any input

Mike

Hey Mike,