10 round capacity and "approved" roster?

Hi NES,

I'm an MA resident who's new to northeastshooters and to the world of guns, and just a couple weeks ago, I got my fingers printed while applying for an LTC-A in Andover, and I'm a bit confused about the capacity limit on handguns here as well as what models of handguns are and aren't legal. From what I understand, there is a TEN round limit capacity for handguns in this state unless the magazine you are using was made BEFORE 1998. However, does this take into account for a round loaded in the chamber of the gun? For example, does this mean I have to carry a handgun that can only hold 9 rounds in the magazine with the 10th round being the one in the chamber, or am I able to carry a handgun that has a 10 round magazine with one round in the chamber, giving me a total of 11 rounds?

Also, as for the "approved" roster: (https://www.mass.gov/doc/approved-firearms-roster-7/download) if one model of the handgun on the list is approved, does this mean all variants of that model are also approved? For example, I've been interested in trying to get an H&K VP9SK when my LTC comes. While the VP9SK is not on the approved list, the full-sized VP9 is so does that mean the VP9SK is MA legal? I have been told that just because a handgun isn't on the list does not mean it is illegal to purchase and use.

I'm asking this because I'm trying to do my homework while waiting for my LTC. I'm trying to find a subcompact 9mm handgun for concealed carry that can also give me a 10 round capacity. If I could get any advice on what to buy, and what is and isn't legal, I would greatly appreciate it.

Well done doing your homework. There are a lot of prior threads on these topics but don’t mind curmudgeons who will give you a hard time. Just remember almost any question you can imagine has been addressed before and can be found with the search feature.