• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

“Lax” Gun Laws in Alabama to Blame for Grey Market Gun Trafficking in Chicago and Michigan

DJBrad

NES Member

Are the storage laws “lax” in Alabama?

Being a MA resident I am biased with certain optics in this matter. I believe the loaded or unloaded gun should be in direct control of your person. Storage laws in MA are well over the top but you have to exercise prudence.

My Dad had a shotgun in his closet for years and as a young lad I would go so far as to gaze and fondle it. I knew the danger and never pulled on the trigger. The real world experience was with my grandad in Round Hill, Virginia shooting cans and such through the holiday visits. In my suburban home we never exercised our 2A rights. Now, I do that very regularly and vehemently aim to support that right as well as breed other 2A lovers.

I think leaving loaded or unloaded guns around unsecured in a vehicle or anywhere else is simply unwise in this current day and age. The thing is, we all want to have the immediate access to personal and global protection so it’s a hard choice to make. You wouldn't leave your wallet in your car over night on the street intentionally would you? We’ve had break ins in my neighborhood and cars are soft targets. What’s the balance between “shall not be infringed” and safe practice? I don’t think there is an easy answer.

Articles like these aren't actually about issues like how to properly store guns. Here's where they come from:

*City A is in State A, which is a heavily-Democrat state with stringent gun laws designed to keep people disarmed
*City A is in dire economic straights and is in a typical Rust Belt state
*City A has an urban blight and crime issue
*City A's politicians have been campaigning for continued civilian disarmament since the 1920s but have consistently failed to curtail urban crime