Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Long Guns in MA

NES Member

Default Long Guns in MA

I am very new to shooting, only 4 yrs. experience mainly with handguns. I am interested in getting started with rifles for home defense etc. Any suggestions where to start?

In another state.

Sorry, that was an easy one.

Kel-Tec Sub-2000 is a fun Home Defense rifle. Takes magazines from several different types of handguns. I have a Glock 22 and mine takes the same magazine. You don't have to buy the more expensive rifle ammo. Also it folds in half easy to put in a backpack. I take mine to the range on my motorcycle.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

So many variables. What do you want to do with it? Want cheap ammo or real expensive ammo? New style rifle or WW2 style?

Quote Originally Posted by Lsgun1 View Post
    So many variables. What do you want to do with it? Want cheap ammo or real expensive ammo? New style rifle or WW2 style?
    If he said home defense, I would be shocked if he was thinking ww2 style.

LTC-A
    GOAL
    Comm2A Supporter - Amazon link http://shop.comm2a.org

For home defense you probably shouldn't be thinking of getting a rifle...the projectiles penetrate too much and travel too fast to be able to fire safely in a small setting like a house. A 12 guage shotgun will stop anything in line of sight, but will also not penetrate walls (or at least not with still lethal velocities) endangering other members of your household in adjacent rooms.
    ... "SAEPE EXPERTUS, SEMPER FIDELIS, FRATRES AETERNI" translated, " Often Tested, Always Faithful, Brothers Forever"...

Quote Originally Posted by Dakar652 View Post
    A 12 guage shotgun will stop anything in line of sight, but will also not penetrate walls (or at least not with still lethal velocities) endangering other members of your household in adjacent rooms.