Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Default AR15 Remove pins in collapsible stock ?

I am a New Hampshire resident with a non resident Mass LTC A. I ordered a Rock River AR15 but had it made Mass compliant. I shoot in Mass sometimes and wanted it compliant. I also felt it would be easier to sell that way if I ever wanted to get rid of the gun. It came from the factory with a collapsible stock that has two roll pins installed by them holding it in place.
    I read somewhere that the stock had to be fixed and require a tool to adjust it for it to be legal.
    So my question is would it be legal to remove the roll pins and use screws to lock the stock?
    It would still require a tool (Screwdriver) to change the adjustments.
    This way I could keep it adjustable in NH and fix it when going to Mass to keep them happy.

IANAL but I think that would be fine. The laws are so grey in this state that most police officers can't understand them. To me though fixed=fixed, regardless of how.

Quote Originally Posted by Tim111 View Post
    IANAL but I think that would be fine. The laws are so grey in this state that most police officers can't understand them. To me though fixed=fixed, regardless of how.
    Wrong.

A mere screw will not suffice for ban compliance.
    Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and thus any interpretation or statements about the law that I might make should be taken with a grain of salt and mixed with your own legal research as well as advice from actual legal counsel. I cannot be held responsible if you find yourself somebody's "friend" in federal, state, or local prison should you act on my opinions on the law. My interpretations of the law will generally be on the conservative side.

Quote Originally Posted by vellnueve View Post
    Wrong.

A mere screw will not suffice for ban compliance.
    What if I were to install allen head bolts and use an allen wrench to remove?