Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default AR-15 in Massachusetts

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to all of this, so if someone can answer these questions, I'd be really thankful.

I understand that MA still has the AWB that sunset in most other areas of the country in 2004. That means that "assault weapons" are banned, which include everything in Chapter 140 Section 121 of MGL, correct?

So, if I wanted an AR-15, I would need to get one without a collapsible stock, bayonet lug, and flash suppressor, correct? That's because it has a pistol grip and removable magazine. It is an "assault weapon" if it has more than two of the aforementioned features, correct?

So, one of the AR-15s that I can buy new is the Bushmaster M4 - http://www.bushmaster.com/catalog_xm...A3X_14M4IZ.asp, correct? Does anyone know of any other "post-ban" or "ban-compliant" AR-15s?

Or I can opt for a used, "pre-ban" AR-15 from basically any manufacturer, correct?

Finally, I go to school in New York. If I were to purchase the Bushmaster, for example, could I have it shipped to a FFL in New York? Federal law only requires that I purchase HANDGUNS in the state of residence, or am I mistaken? Either way, a post-ban AR-15 would be legal for me to possess in New York, because they do not require a permit for long arms.

Thanks for your help!

You can buy a used pre-ban AR15.

There are many manufacturers that make AR15s in post-ban configuration. Armalite, Rock River Arms, Bushmaster, S&W, etc., etc.

You'll have to check carefully on the laws in NY to make sure that you can actually possess the gun there -- I'm unfamiliar with NY laws. NY has its own assault weapons ban, but I'm not familiar with the statute.

Federal law will let you buy the gun in any state, provided that you obey the laws of both states.

You can't buy the gun mail order from a MA FFL. You would have to buy it in person.

Correct Correct Correct

Quote Originally Posted by mmbruce10 View Post
    Hello,