Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default What do you recommend for best all-around pistol?

I'm new to shooting and looking to make my first purchase of a firearm. I want to purchase a best overall firearm that I can use for general shooting applications as well as something that does well in competition. Any suggestions as to what to try and at what calibers?
    JMJ

Depending on where you live there are a lot of great guns. If you are looking for an all around gun for competition you can get a Glock. They work great for self defense, competition, and target shooting. Another great option if you don't live in MA is the S&W M&P pistol. This is a winning combination. Has the same features as a Glock yet has a better grip angle and some other great features. I would recommend a .40S&W if you are using for all applications. 9mm doesn't work for some shooting disciplines. I would also recommend getting a full size gun not a compact or subcompact.

Another option would be a 1911. They are the best platform IMO out there. Only problem is most are .45 which can be a little much for new shooters (although they recoil about the same as a .40 and sometimes even less) and the ammo costs more.

Pete

Starksboro, VT (and sometimes Waltham. For now.)

My first handgun was a S&W Model 19 - a .357 Magnum revolver. You can shoot either .38 Special or .357 ammo in it; .38 target loads have pretty light recoil which is a good thing for beginning shooters.

Some good models to look for are the S&W Model 19/66 (the 19 is blued steel; the 66 is stainless) or the 686 (which is still in production) or the Ruger GP100 or Security Six. I personally do not like Colts, but that's because the handgrip is too large for my hands. But they are an excellent gun. Taurus revolvers are available cheap, but I do not like their triggers - most of the ones I've handled have a gritty feel.

NES Member